top of page

9T Claim The Year 9 League Title

9T won the year nine league for 2016 in fine style after school on Tuesday the 15th November. In truth, they deserved the win with a fine team display of attacking football and ferocious tackling. Kostadine Nikolav used his strength to collect a lot of ball around the middle of the field and himself and Fionan O’Brien launched many attacks forward.

To be fair 9M battled hard with Eoin Farry and Paul Bennett defending well at the back and goalkeeper Eifin Doherty pulling off some fine saves. However it was 9Ts power in the forwards that won the match with joint captain Malachy O’Flanagan, Ultan O’Reilly and John-Joe O’Loughlin all able to work some fine scores. 9M continued to battle hard with some good play from the hard-working Caolan Swift, Micheal Flanagan and Codi Halligan. Their hard work payed off when Cahir Breen tricked Oisin Seaney in goals to nick a controversial goal. 9T finished the first half winning by five points and the feeling that they could push on and win the game. Early in the second half 9M got the break they were looking for when awarded a penalty for a rash tackle by Kostadine. The impressive Ross Bogue took the responsibility but didn’t even test Seaney in the goals when blasting the ball just over the crossbar. Although Rory Joe Duffy and the 9M boys continued to work hard it was obvious that 9T were gaining the upper hand in this game. Danny Reid, Niall Woods, Sean Rice and the super-fast Ethan Prunty did sterling defensive work and prevented the 9M boys getting back in on goals again. So, an impressive win for 9T on the final score line of 1-3 to 4-8. Mr McGovern presented the cup to the joint 9T captains Fionan O’Brien and Malachy O’Flanagan.

bottom of page