top of page

Run For Oisín

A beautiful autumnal morning saw almost 600 St Michael’s students take to the playing fields and college grounds for the 13th edition of our internal school cross-country championships and fun run for the Oisin McGrath Foundation, sponsored again this year by McDade’s Centra Derrylin and Clogher.

Right from the first race of the day the combined year 11 and 12 event there were some thrilling encounters with Sean Vaugh leading from the gun only to be overhauled in the closing fifty metres by Aidan McDonnell who took his first St Michael’s title. Year 11 student Joe McDade completed the to three.

Newcomer Rory Keane dominated the year 10 race, winning comfortably from Oliver Hughes Jordan and Conor Murphy but there was no such margin in the year 9 event where long-time leader Cormac McCauley was hounded to the line by Dylan Martin, McCauley just prevailing by a single second, with Ruairi Moore taking bronze.

The year 8 race was even closer as Cain Fitzpatrick and Ruairi O’Keefe set off at an intense pace and sustained it right through the race, never more than a stride apart, O’Keefe prevailing by the width of his jersey with Jamie Steele completing the podium.

Over 130 year 13 and 14 students set off on the 3km fun run after break in a great atmosphere and up front it was Domhnall Lynam who just held off Jacob Britton and Bruce Worley but the real winners were the Oisin Foundation for whom over £800 pounds was raised, and all the boys who took part and those staff who assisted on the morning along with the Year 13 and 14 PE organising team.

bottom of page